Can a shotgun choke be too much? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,296
Back To Top
Can a shotgun choke be too much?

Of wanting to get more distance and tighter pattern, can a barrel be over choked? Weapon is Mossberg 500 pump, 12 ga.
justshoot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-25-2012, 11:58 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,010
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

Yes, but you have to shoot each gun with different loads to find what works best in your gun. If your shooting a gun without screwin chokes thats all you can do withoutgetting work done or a different barrel. If you have screwins then you can try all different choketubes. Havent't talked to in a while you can come over and we could try shooting on paper and see what works.
bpottorff is online now  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 12:09 AM
The Man
 
Strut10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 2D
Posts: 6,175
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

A gun can absolutely be over-choked.

But there's no hard & fast rule as to when it will occur. There's some pretty universal guidelines. But EVERY gun/tube/load combo must be proven or disproven at the patterning board. Some combos that make all the sense in the world just plain won't pattern. Some combos that have "failure" written all over them turn out to be monsters.

Case in point: Several years ago, I spent countless hours and fattened cheekbones trying to get a coarse lead load to pattern well in a BPS 10 ga. for coyote duty. #4 buck, BB and #2 shot failed to give any patterns worth a hoot through a 1/2 dozen or more tubes that should have been just right. As a last ditch effort, I screwed in a XXX-Full Comp-N-Choke tube (the manufacturer even reccommends shot #5 or finer) and ran 2 1/4 oz. of #2 shot through it. It was MONSTROUS !!! The combination should have been, by all calculations, WAAAAY over-choked and should have produced much deformed shot and many fliers. But ti didn't.

As a generalization, for turkey, your Mossy 500 should like some combo of a 3" #5 or #6 shot through a tube in the .650"-.660" range. But only time spent with big paper will tell the real tale.

demokraten saugen
Strut10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pa.
Posts: 1,296
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

Very interesting, thank you!
justshoot is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 04:29 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Enterprise, Bedford county
Posts: 1,445
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

What loads are you shooting? moss 500's have a tighter bore and will shoot target 71/2 and 8 shot loads good clear down into the low .640's for turkey shoots. I dont know much about the bigger hunting loads.
Huskyhunter is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 05:12 PM
Regular Visitor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: bradford co.
Posts: 51
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

if your gun is a fixed choke,try different shot payloads
wells is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 05:30 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Butler PA 16001
Posts: 243
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

I have the tru glo strut stopper extreme in my 500 mossberg. It shoots well with #6 federal turkey shells at 40+ yards, and I take it to the local turkey shoots and do very well with pretty much any game load. I had 4 different tubes and countless boxes of shells and sizes before I was happy. Good luck

Vegetarian: Old indian word for bad hunter.
Ya cant eat bone, but it looks dang good on the wall.
HighTecHillbilly is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2012, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
beagler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lackawanna County
Posts: 18,178
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

Too tight a choke will blow a pattern wide open as the others have stated.

Never Misses
beagler is online now  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 02:08 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Irvine, PA
Posts: 387
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

I have a mossberg 500 12 gauge with a mad max choke tube that shoots #6's. Winchester Supreme High Velocity turkey shells shoot the best for me.

Common sense isn't very common these days!
Peeper is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-01-2012, 10:25 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington County PA
Posts: 11,416
Back To Top
Re: Can a shotgun choke be too much?

They say toooo much of anything is not good....

NRA Benefactor Member
NWTF Member
Born2Hunt is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome