• 2 Post By Dogface
  • 1 Post By BHC
  • 1 Post By jeffppc

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 06:42 AM Thread Starter
BHC
Part of the Community

20ga. 3" Accutips vs Expanders

For years I have shot the Accutips with great accuracy, and truefully no issue on game......But also being a fan of the Barnes that I have been using in my muzzleloaders for over 20 years, I was excited to try the new Remington Barnes since they came down in price inline with other slugs......Honestly I didn't know what to expect, I honestly didn't think they would group as well as the Accutips. So last week I went to the range.....Without making any type of adjustments I took two shots off a steady rest at 100 yards, both cloverleaf 1" to the right.....I was impressed, so I decided to make the adjustment....4 clicks to the left.....first shot went high, I twitched......Next three shots 2" above center.....this was with the Savage 220......Next up was the 1187, very similar results and adjustments. I will go back one more time in the giving weeks to see if I get the same results.

The Barnes are known for devastating performance on game
Attached Images
File Type: jpg remington-accutips-3-5cdfd5.jpg (518.1 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg savage-220-remington.jpg (579.1 KB, 2 views)
Dogface likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 08:30 AM
Part of the Community

In my SAVAGE 220 Expanders shoot better at 100 yds than Accutips do at 50 yds. Have killed 5 big Mich. bucks with the Expanders from 60 to 200 yds, work just fine. I would love to recover one but even with a hit right on the point of the shoulder they always exit the other side. Big hole in, bigger hole out.
Dogface, Uncle Johnny and BHC like this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 11:24 AM

Switching over to Barnes myself
BHC likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 04:41 PM
Part of the Community