Cantilever Questions - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2016, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Cantilever Questions

Was wondering how the cantilever mounting system works on shotguns. Not sure if this is a solid system or if I should go the drill and tap route. I am new to this rifled shotgun stuff, after 35+ years hunting with centerfire rifles and muzzleloaders I am now hunting in a shotgun only area in NY state. I am looking to purchase a rifled 20 gauge shotgun and am looking for help and advice
Thanks in advance
Dave

ONLY THE DUMBEST SHEEP ELECT THEIR BUTCHERS

3D in PA
7R in NY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 01:45 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Cantilever Questions

Cantilevers set the scope high. They are integral to the slug barrel. Mounting to the receiver puts the scope down where it belongs. You can have an older gun drilled and tapped...but excellent 20 gauge slug guns are everywhere on the used market for $300-$400. There are also several different receiver mounts out there..long out of fashion ..but still functional. If you plan on hunting there for years...I would grab a used slug gun and be done with it.

"Be nice, until its time to not be nice" (Patrick Swayze...Roadhouse)
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 02:03 AM
Frequent Contributor

Cantilever scope mounts are mounted to the barrel iteself. Most if not all shotguns have an easily removable barrel. If you remove and replace a barrel, there is no guarantee that a receiver mounted scope will line up exactly with your barrel and will need resighting in each time you remove the barrel. The Cantilever mount is welded/soldered to the barel itself so when you remove the barrel, in theory the scope should still be true to the barrel.

The more people that I meet, the more I love my dog
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-22-2016, 03:10 PM

Quote: