pistol hunting - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

pistol hunting

Who is going to hunt with a pistol this fall for deer or bear ? Wat u shooting ? Bullets ? I'm getting ready by going to the range altho I haven't decided yet on the bullets .. shooting a 357 6 shot revolver sa da and just got a box of 158 grain Remington sjhp bullets that I want to try next week ... also any stories u have I would love to hear them .. I'm new to this but I can't wait until I get out with it .. rite now I feel comfortable at no farther then 30 yards. . Looking forward to hearing wat u have and your stories
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 02:58 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: pistol hunting

I hunted last year with my Ruger 357 blackhawk. I'm shooting the same ammo as you. I did not get a deer. It did feel odd to not have a rifle slung on my back. I cut a walking stick to have in my hand and to use as a shooting rest. And to whittle on while I sat and watched for deer.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-23-2015, 08:04 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I had my T/C Contender in 7-30 Waters, my Ruger Super Blackhawk and Super Redhawk both in .44 Magnum out at the range today.

In the 7-30 Waters, I use Hornady 139gr SST bullets. The Super Blackhawk likes the Hornady 200gr XTP bullets, while the Super Redhawk likes the 240 or 300gr XTP's.

The T/C Contender and the Super Redhawk are both scoped and are sighted in for 100 yards.

The Super Blackhawk has only iron sights and I sight that in for 50 yards.

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 01:09 AM

S & W model 629-4 mountain gun 4 inch or a model 29-3 6 inch, yet to make up my mind. 240 or 250 grain lead SWC over about of 20 grains of 2400. Should do the trick.

Big LSWC's rule
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-24-2015, 10:35 PM