Shotgun Plug... - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 07:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PADingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Effort ,PA
Posts: 13,867
Back To Top
Shotgun Plug...

OK, we have all been there at one point. I can't find the plug for the pump my son is going to be using this Saturday. (I have made them before) The shotty holds 5 +1 without the plug for 2 3/4 " shells, but he is using 3" this season. Do I have to cut the rod at 9" or 7 3/4" for the 3" shells? I've cut a 9" piece of 1/4 fiberglass rod and threw on a couple of O rings already.

IIRC, even though he is using the 3" it cannot hold more than two of the 2 3/4" by law...correct?

In Memory of LCPL Ralph Fabbri 9/29/89-9/28/10
Semper Fi, Brother
Never forget!
PADingo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 08:20 PM
The Man
 
Borden811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clearfield Co.
Posts: 5,128
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

Correct

I think I'm an alright guy, I think I'm alright
Borden811 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 08:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 26,979
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

If he is usig 3" shells the plug must prevent more than two 3" shells in the tube, if he is shooting 2 3/4 " shells the plug must prevent more than 2 shells in the tube. I have seen guns that were plugged for 3" shells that would allow 3 2 3/4 " shells in the tube. The bottom line is, the gun must be plugged to prevent more than 2 shells that the hunter has on his person while hunting in the tube. It would be wise to have a plug for both scenerios.



Woods walker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 08:41 PM
The Man
 
Borden811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clearfield Co.
Posts: 5,128
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

I've got two shotguns that accept 3.5 inch shells. The plugs in both of them allow no more the two of either 3.5, 3, or 2 3/4 inch shells. The plug can be cut to one length, and work for both shell lengths.

I think I'm an alright guy, I think I'm alright
Borden811 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 09:04 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Butler ,Pa .
Posts: 1,305
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borden811
I've got two shotguns that accept 3.5 inch shells. The plugs in both of them allow no more the two of either 3.5, 3, or 2 3/4 inch shells. The plug can be cut to one length, and work for both shell lengths.
same here,, one plug cut to the proper lenght will work will all shells
Dave2pa is online now  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 09:04 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: S.W. PA
Posts: 5,487
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borden811
I've got two shotguns that accept 3.5 inch shells. The plugs in both of them allow no more the two of either 3.5, 3, or 2 3/4 inch shells. The plug can be cut to one length, and work for both shell lengths.
Bingo, easy fix.
Ol' Crow is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 09:05 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 26,979
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

May be true, however there are many plugs out there that do not do that and you don't have to have 3 in the tube to be in violation, if 3 shells fit, it is a violation. If I give advice, it is to be on the safe side.



Woods walker is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 09:14 PM
The Man
 
Borden811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clearfield Co.
Posts: 5,128
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

Wasn't saying you were wrong John. I was merely suggesting instead of having a plug for 2 3/4" shells, and a plug for 3" shells, one can be cut for both lengths. Obviously, if more than the legal number of shells can fit, whether they are in the mag or not, you're in violation. Otherwise, you could have no plug at all, and only say you had two in the mag.

I think I'm an alright guy, I think I'm alright
Borden811 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 11:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PADingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Effort ,PA
Posts: 13,867
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

Thanks for verifying what I originally thought. When I got home, I dropped the 9" fiber plug in. Can only get two 2 3/4 shells in and only two of the 3" in the tube. Just didn't want to run into a prob for my son. I've seen where folks had plugs in that would only take two 3" but would actually get three in the mag of 2 3/4 shells.

In Memory of LCPL Ralph Fabbri 9/29/89-9/28/10
Semper Fi, Brother
Never forget!
PADingo is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-30-2014, 02:41 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 26,979
Back To Top
Re: Shotgun Plug...

It is always good to check with the shells you will be using. I have seen factory plugs that were short enough to allow too many shells in the tube and the owners of the guns were very surprised.



Woods walker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome