Help a gal with thinking about equipment - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Help a gal with thinking about equipment

Hi, I'm wondering if anyone can help me think through getting some gear. I have a family - husband and three girls ages 5-9. We are total novices but we'd like to get into squirrel hunting as a family (maybe eventually other kinds of hunting). I'm trying to figure out how to outfit all of us with the right things. Hubby I'll leave to figure it out on his own, but I have the following ideas about me and the kids:

The girls are really interested in bowhunting squirrel. We have a nice, long side alley where we can set up a target for them to practice - it's not real long but it will be good enough for now. Only the oldest girl has taken an archery class, and she's the most interested, so I'm inclined to get her a real starter bow. I'm balking at buying a real bow like the Genesis for all three because, ack, $$$. Are there bows for younger kids that are cheaper that would make good starter bows, to try it to see if they like it (they have drawn a bow before, just not done any amount of real shooting). I'm waffling, because I want them all to feel like we take it seriously that they learn, but, boy, $$$. I want them to learn firearms safety, too, and was thinking about buying an inexpensive Daisy BB gun for them to practice with and to teach them safety rules. Any recommendations for a BB? The Daisy is very accessible at the local KMart. Again, with this, we can use the side alley for target practice. If they show interest in a rifle, maybe I'd get the oldest girl a rifle later when she's hunting age.