Clear Shade Creek - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Clear Shade Creek

Hello everyone. I'm just getting into fly fishing and a buddy invited me to join him on Clear Shade Creek next weekend. I haven't caught anything with a fly rod yet so when I say I'm new to this I'm talking REALLY new. Haha. I've been practicing my casting in the back yard and on a local stream with a piece of yarn tied to my tippet. I'm hoping my casts are good enough to fool a hungry fish. Has anyone been to the fly fishing only section of Clear Shade Creek this year? If so how was your experience? What did you use? Any and all help and tips are always greatly appreciated. I'm really hoping to have success this time out. Thanks in advance for any responses.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 08:25 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Jaron, hi. I've never fished Clear Shade Creek, but I do know they stocked the Fly fishing Only Section just last week. Have fun!
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 08:34 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

I read they stocked Clear Shade Creek but I wasn't sure if it was the FFO section. Thanks for the heads up.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 11:02 PM
Frequent Contributor

RE: Clear Shade FFO

Hi,
I fished there years ago in the FFO stretch, w/o really knowing where to access it properly. Very rocky shoreline made it difficult to navigate to fish, but we did hear later that the upper section is much better. You won't have to worry too much about your false casting, as you'll be fishing either nymphs or streamers, not dry flies. Fish deep and slow, as the trout won't move much in this colder weather.

Good luck, take your time, and have fun learning! You won't be a pro until, like your 4th time out! lol

Canefly

Do good and disappear........