Steelhead - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 02:09 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Steelhead

Hi guys,

I have a question about fly fishing for Steelhead. I'm still new to fly fishing and just have a 5wt.. I was doing some reading and some people recommended an 8 wt. I've also talked to an experienced fly fisherman, and he said that he fishes for steelhead with his 5 wt.

So my question is, do I need to buy something bigger than a 5 wt?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 02:24 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Steelhead

It can definitely be done, its done quite often as a matter of fact. Youll tire the fish a little more, and youll want to fiah somewhere with dexent space around you because you wont be able to turn the fish real well on a run. That being said id take your 5 wt until you are sure you like it enough to buy a new rod

I believe in God, family and fair dealings.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 05:48 PM

I've landed quite a few on my 4wt. It's much more forgiving on light tippers. My personal preference is a 9.5 to 10' 7wt.

Lake Effect Beagles
Remmy/Winnie/Queenie/Nellie/Dewey/YooHoo/Shoog
V.P. Presque Isle Beagle club
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-15-2016, 10:57 PM
Frequent Contributor

I wouldn't recommend a 5 wt for steelhead especially in the early season. I don't think it would be too hard to land one in January when the fish are sluggish but in the early season when the fish are fresh and the streams are crowded a 7 or 8 weight is the proper rod.
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2016, 12:27 AM

Yeah I prefer a 10ft 7wt. I've seen guys use a 5 wt but like others said it is a lot harder to control a fresh fish. Especially if it's crowded. Remember these steelies live most of their lives in a lake with plenty of room to swim and get very strong. I have had some epic fights with my 7 wt