Fly-Fishing for Smallies - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 02:08 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Fly-Fishing for Smallies

First, I'm a total infant when it comes to fly fishing. I've never done, never owned a fly rod, nothing. I've been considering it for a few years and I'm pretty sure I'd like to try it. I want to fish for smallmouth bass and maybe some carp on a fly rod. I'm not really that interested in trout fishing although I'm sure that would come after time if I got decent at it.

Do you guys have any suggestions on a good, quality fly rod for that type of fishing? Obviously it costs some money to get into fly fishing and I don't want to go the super cheap route but I also don't want to spend upwards of a thousand dollars to get going.

I've been looking at Tim Holschlag's smallmouth angler fly rods and they seems decent but who can really tell? I mean he's a smallmouth guru but they are after all, his rods. It's only natural that he would praise them. But at $375 I wouldn't want to buy one if I could buy something comparable for $100 less.

"Catch and release is best practiced in solitude."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 02:22 PM
Frequent Contributor

Send a message via AIM to PA12pt
Re: Fly-Fishing for Smallies

My big river rod for smallmouth and carp is a 5/6 weight pflueger road and reel combo. It works decent for that but if i could id get something a little heavier, maybe a 7 or 8 weight. But ive caught 2 big carp on that pflueger and it held up to the test both time so no problems with smallies. I think it only cost me like $60 or so for the complete set up fly line and backing and everything.

Philippians 4:13
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-03-2010, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa