Need help... - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 12:30 AM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Need help...

I have never fly fished before always used spinning rods, I was wondering if anyone could recommend a fly rod to buy as a started rod and what flys to use this time of year. I am totally new to this so any info would help.. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 04:01 AM
Part of the Community

Re: Need help...

I'd go with a 9' 4wt or 5wt. Cabelas three forks really are decent for the money, I've had a few. I've heard good things about the Redington starter combos as well.

I'd keep it simple to start. Swing some wooly buggers and pick up a few basic nymphs. Pheasant tail nymphs, hares ears, stuff like that.

Be patient and work on your skills. Learn to nymph fish and as the water warms up and spring comes around you will be able to get into some good dry fly fishing.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Thanks for the info
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 02:44 PM

You should be able to find a nice beginner setup under $150. Get some basic patterns and get out there and fish. My first few years were slow, but I always got a few. If you want to get good at it you have to be willing to leave the spinning gear at home and just fly fish.
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 02:49 PM
Frequent Contributor

I really like the Eagle Claw Black Eagle 8'6" at Wal Mart. cheap @ -/+ 20 bucks but it fishes pretty good for the money.

Dont knock it till you've tried it
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 03:32 PM
The Man

You need to find a mentor. Someone to show you the ropes, get you started. Someone local. Check with local fly shops, local TU chapters, see if they have anything going. Sometimes they have fly tying, fly casting lessons, etc.