Muskie rod suggestions - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Muskie rod suggestions

Just wondering if anyone could help me out with what type of rod and line to use for muskie...I am new to it this year and have had a couple on but keep losing them...any suggestions on what type of rod and line would be greatly appreciated....

"You can't kill anything from your couch"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 11:38 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Muskie rod suggestions

So many choices for rods, and one of the best things about musky fishing is explaining to your wife why you need this rod for topwaters/bucktails, this rod for gliders, this one for mag dawgs, this one for trolling, etc, etc, etc., lol. If your looking at only one, you'll probably want to consider what you plan on throwing the most and go from there. I have a few Gander rods and a Bass-Pro rod that were reasonably priced and capable of handling a fairly wide range of lures. For length I'd recommend going as long as you can handle. I use mostly 7'6" and 8' rods, but sometimes wish I had a longer one. I know, don't we all!

As for line that is a bit easier to narrow down. Most guys go with braided lines in the 80-100lb range. The brand preferences vary, and I've changed mine a few times, so I won't bother with picking just one. It seems newer more durable lines come out yearly.

There is always a season!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

I will most likely use top water and the big muskie spinner baits...like I said....I am new to this and have no idea what I am doing...I usually am shooting carp when I am "fishing"

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-05-2012, 03:39 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa