Cabelas walleye runners - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 07:46 AM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Cabelas walleye runners

Has anyone ever fished with these? I'm new to walleye fishing but I just picked up the 6 pack of these (figured considering idk what I'm doing I'll get lures that actually have walleye in the name) I most likely will try some trolling with them. Has anyone had success with them? Any and all tips are appreciated. I will mostly be fishing blue marsh as it only takes me 15 minutes to get there and I know there is walleye in there. Trolling in general is kind of new to me, I've read around 2mph is a good speed? Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 09:57 AM
The Man

I never used Cabela's walleye lures but I have no doubt they will work. Most are made in China from proven designs.

I troll for walleye with similar lures. It can get complicated depending on the depth and what is on the bottom. Experimentation and experience will come into play.

In general consider these suggestions:

You can control the depth of the lure by the length and poundage of the line you have out. You can also use the lure to fish the depth you want. Sometimes I use shallow runners over weed tops. You will need to experiment. If you catch a fish remember what you were doing when you caught it, speed, depth, location, etc.

I also use trolling sinkers to get down quickly without letting too much line out.

I try to troll over the tops of the bottom weeds or structure. That is not always easy.

I also try to troll along the edge of weed lines and structure. A little easier.

If I mark fish or catch fish I throw out a marker buoy and work the spot. This is a good time to have shiners and night crawlers.

Vary your speed. Sometimes slow speed works and sometimes a faster speed up to 3 or 4 mph works.