Lake Erie (NW PA) info - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-03-2015, 11:03 PM Thread Starter

Lake Erie (NW PA) info

Well we thought we'd try something new and we're thinking about taking the boat to Erie for walleye. I've fished the western basin but I was hoping to get some info on fishing somewhere a little closer on Erie. Any have a recommendation of a decent place to put in/stay. Also, if you have some pointers on what to troll with it would be appreciated. I've been checking fishing reports but haven't been able to find much. I have all the gear (downriggers, dipsy divers, jet divers, reef runners, etc.) just need a few tips.

Thanks

There are creatures here that cannot even be found in books. And I have killed them all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-04-2015, 02:52 AM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Lake Erie (NW PA) info

I am fairly new to walleye fishing on erie. I go with some buddies and we mainly use lead core off planer boards. Usually have a few dypsies with spoons also. Using lures such as reef runners, thunder sticks etc off the lead core. A lot of guys do well drifting with worm harnesses but I only fished this way once... Walnut creek is a good place to launch. Stop at poor Richard bait and tackle and ask lots of questions...be careful...the big lake can turn nasty in a hurry...check marine forcast...lots of hotels in the area. Good luck.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-05-2015, 11:18 PM Thread Starter

Thanks. Been on Erie western basin a bunch of times on charters back in the day when you cast Erie Dearies all day. Hopefully this will come together.

There are creatures here that cannot even be found in books. And I have killed them all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-08-2015, 02:31 AM
Frequent Contributor