New first day approach.... - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Backwoods

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-25-2018, 08:27 AM Thread Starter

New first day approach....

Every year we are up at 5:00 AM. Every year we are standing on the banks of a creek around 6-6:30 AM, it is peaceful and quiet. Every year around 7:00 AM a couple more guys show up, it is a little less peaceful. Every year around 7:30 AM a few more guys show up, it is not very peaceful anymore. Every year around 7:50 AM a few more guys show up and the "who is that guy?", "I've been fishing this hole for 35 years", "Don't cast over me", etc., etc. begins, it is wearing on my nerves. I'm not one to say anything or start anything (unless the other person is blatantly being a jerk) so every year I roll with it, catch a few fish and move on. It wears thin though, it is tiring and maddening listening to bickering and dealing with a crowd (even a good crowd is still a crowd). For the last few years we have been talking about switching it up on the first day, going at it from a different approach but continuing to keep our "going on the first day" tradition intact.