Fisherman at HunterPark youth section Grove City - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 01:41 AM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Fisherman at HunterPark youth section Grove City

Hunting is my passion and I am trying to pass that onto my sons, but they like to fish as well. Unfortunately I'm not very good at it and we do mostly pond fishing for bluegills. Tonight my 2 sons wanted to go try and catch trout. We went to the youth section of Wolf Creek in Grove city. They used our poles that we always use with worms on them. My 2 boys ages 9 and 12 fished for a good hour and couldn't get a bite. We could see trout coming up and grabbing bugs at times but they wouldn't hit. My sons were getting a little discouraged.

A young man and his friends were walking past to go downstream and he told us he could see fish in a hole a little further down. He asked what we were using and I told him worms. He pulled a "trout magnet" and little bobber out of his pocket and told me to put it on my youngest son's line, so I did. 5 minutes later my son had his first rainbow, about 12 inches long.

I told him there but I wanted to say it again, to the young fisherman, thank you so much. You'll never know how happy you made my son and how much the memory means to us. Your a class act and it was nice to meet you.

Thanks again
John

Molon Labe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 01:51 AM
The Man

Re: Fisherman at HunterPark youth section Grove City

Awesome story!! Grab some size 12 swivels, 2-4lb leader line, some #8 octopus hooks, and some powerbait, minnows, butter worms or trout spinners and spoons. Tie on a 3'+ leader to the swivel and have at it!! With powerbait put on just enough to float the hook and put a sinker about a foot from the hook.

Living the life one day at a time.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2015, 02:48 AM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman