First trout on bait in a long time - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-28-2015, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
The Man

First trout on bait in a long time

You can read the back story to this fish here:

https://www.huntingpa.com/forums/ubbthrea...e=1#Post3554046

My son caught this guy the other day and it was his second fish on a fly rod. His first was a 12" hold over bow about 3 4 minutes before. I went to take his picture with the fish on Saturday but my phone was dead. He has been bummed because he wanted to show everyone.

On the way home from work I followed speed racer and had about 5 minutes of extra time. I didn't have my fly rod with me but had my sons push button rod and some wax worms.

I got out an nailed him after about 3 minutes. I am not good with bait tackle anymore but it was nice to feel the line and feel the trout hit. I may switch back for a little while to get good at it again so I can teach my son the same way that I was brought up.

I did feel like a goof with my equipment, but to see how excited he was that he could show his pappy and momma his fish was priceless.

THe trout was somewhere around 15" and has been in the stream for at least a year. It hasn't been stocked since last may.

Proud member of Gobblers Anonymous Support Group [img]<<GRAEMLIN_URL>>/wink.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-28-2015, 05:30 PM

Re: First trout on bait in a long time

Awesome! I too started fishing this year with spinning gear and bait again. I mostly use flies, but it's fun to go back to the way we were taught sometimes too. Nice to see you got him back for some pictures!

A bad day hunting rabbits beats a good day of anything else!
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-28-2015, 05:32 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Nice fish and even better story behind it all mike.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-28-2015, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
The Man