3Likes
  • 1 Post By willyp
  • 1 Post By Flintnocker
  • 1 Post By willyp

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Tanning Hides

Anyone have a recommendation on hide tanning formulas? Any tips, I am all ears?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 05:47 PM
Part of the Community

Camtraker, My 10 year old Grandson and I have been braintanning deer hides and furs together for three years now. He has progressed at a rate art which he learned everything which took me since I was 12 until..three years when he started teaching me. Between us we have the process down to where we actually start the tanning process before we roll 'em and freeze'em. We use predominantly stone age tools, and the end result is clothing, and he's darn knowledeable about that as well. Our process is clean, safe, and uses materials you most likely have at home right now. Most furs and hides are ready for the smoking process in less than four short process phases and the finished product movers like it is still alive. Darn proud of that young man. You ought hear him call ducks..or deer..or....
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 05:13 AM

With CWD on the rise I don't think I would be Brain Tanning anything !
Tanning supplies are not that costly as to the risk you are taking with the young fellow !
Flintnocker likes this.

WILLY P
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 06:04 AM
Part of the Community