The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

Low down on making your own wine?

6K views 23 replies 17 participants last post by  OneLongShot 
#1 ·
I've been looking into making my own wine for a while now, and figured I'd make a post. Anyone have any good websites to check out and read up on? Also, any good wine supply stores either around Pittsburgh or Altoona? Any info I can get would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all.

#6 ·
Scorpion,
I'm a newbie at this too, but have 5 gallons of cider in the works to make potent Apple Jack and maybe some wine. A couple buddies make wine and beer and are pretty good at it.

Oak Spring Winery just north of Altoona on old Rt 220 will have everything you need and a person to give advice

#9 ·
if you want to try something easy, buy 5 gallons of cider and 5 lbs of honey and a pack of cyser yeast from wyeast
(internet). warm up the cider enough to melt the honey and mix it real good and put it in your fermenter and add the wyeast after it cools below 100 degrees. rack it into the carboy after a couple of weeks and let it mellow and rack it a couple of times until its done. it is called cyser and it tastes like asti spumante.

#12 ·
I have been making homemade wine for quite a while. Mostly fruits but I have also done concord grape and wild catawba grape as well as honey (mead), dandelion, tomato both red and green. When I first started I found this website and it is about as good as it gets.

http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/

It is a huge site with more information than you can absorb in a months reading. It is bookmarked on my computer and referred to often.

#13 ·
already got 2 1gallon jugs going. the recipe is simple. you use a 1 gallon ice tea jug an d use it as your fermenter, you attach a a big balloon that will stretch over the top, and you use that to collect the carbon dioxide.the balloon will start to inflate from it. after 6 weeks its ready or unless you want to let it sit and age more.

#15 ·
ACEarcher said: