Help choosing new arrows - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-17-2014, 02:46 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Help choosing new arrows

I posted this over at archery talk, but I thought I would post it here as well. I'm looking for some help choosing some new arrows. I just got into archery last year, so I'm pretty new to this. I got a complete setup off my friend who's been bugging me get into archery for a while now. Of course, now I'm hooked. Currently I'm shooting Easton Axis 400 spine, 9.0 gpi, cut at 28", 28" draw length, 60lb draw, 100 grain practice tips and 100 grain muzzy broadheads. These arrows are great and helped me harvest my first deer ever this year. Booyah!

Anyways, the problem is I only have 6 total arrows and I would like to get more. I'm not looking to buy the best arrows out there. I seriously doubt my shooting would do them any justice. I would like my arrows to do double duty for me, practicing and deer hunting. I was looking at some Easton AfterMaths. Here's the specs: (Shafts Size: 400 Shaft Weight: 8.8 GPI Stock Length: 31 inches Pre-installed orange H Nocks Includes 2 in. Blazer Vanes Includes ST RPS Inserts High strength, reduced diameter carbon construction Straightness: +/- .005") . Since I'm not really sure what I'm doing I figured I could get some help here. I'm not shooting much past 30 yards yet since that is about the limit I would feel comfortable shooting a deer from. Not sure if that matters, but figured I'd throw that out there.

Any suggestions, ideas, or thoughts would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-17-2014, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Re: Help choosing new arrows