The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

Matthews Helim question

655 views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Take Em Down 
#1 ·
Some history first. I've been hunting archery for 35 years, this is my 4th bow. My last bow was 15-18 yrs old, I lost track. Bows have come a long way in 15 years, I was lost when trying to decide what bow to buy. I bought a Helim new at a local dealer. From the start I thought a 29" draw length was to short for me.
The dealer told me I'm old school and this is how the new bows are. I didn't know any better, bought the bow and thought I'd get used to it. Fast forward to now, after two seasons I regret not listening to my gut. I think a 30" would fit me better. When I draw the bow I feel I'm not getting my elbow back all the way. At a 3D shoot last year a guy in my group commented it doesn't look right for me.I'm dissappointed in the bow shop and myself. I plan to take it back to them and explain the situation. Do you think I'd be wrong to expect the shop to make it right after all this time (assuming it is wrong)? I don't want the guy to tell me it fits me fine when I'm pretty sure it's not right. Bottom line, I'm not happy with it.

#2 ·
After two years it's probably not reasonable to expect them to do anything on the bow for free. You can get a new cam put on to make it longer. However, first, you could try a couple of things to see if you really think the draw length will make a difference:
1) Are you using a loop on the string? If so, put one one that is a little longer. Can probably get at least an extra 1/4-1/2" doing that.
2) Is your release adjustable? My Scott Sabertooth is adjustable and you could also make that a bit longer.