Range Finder - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 4,729
Back To Top
Range Finder

I have a Bushnell yardage pro 450.
It doesn't have ARC.
Don't feel like shelling out the doe right now for
an ARC Range Finder.
I'm hunting out of an 18' ladder stand.
I take my yardage readings on different tree's
roughly 2' up from the ground.
How much difference do you think there is in yards at this angle.
For instance if I'm getting a 22 yard reading on a tree from my stand.

Potter County
Gods Country USA
Potter Co. Joe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 04:41 PM
Regular Member
 
Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: PA transplant in TX
Posts: 2,348
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

Maybe 2-3 yards. It's not enough to worry about in my opinion. My Nikon doesn't have angle correction and it has been working out very well. I ranged a doe at 22 yards Sunday in Ohio and I was 20' up, I used my 20 pin and it was right on the money. Well except it was 3 ft left due a rest issue haha.

-Bowhunter

Coop
Squirrel is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 05:05 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lycoming county
Posts: 2,266
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

Its rarely a problem for distances around 20 yards or less so i have no doubt that you hit your mark. The advantages for arc becomes much more apparent at distances of 30 or greater. It is also much more important when hunting hillsides and elevations 18' and above. If you dont have arc, Once in stand youre supposed to range things at eye level instead of ground level to get somewhat accurate readings. The problem you run into with that is you cant always get a reading at eye level in alot of spots.
Buck Whisperer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 05:55 PM
RB
Sage
 
RB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Home 2F, Camp 2G & 2F
Posts: 28,459
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck Whisperer
Its rarely a problem for distances around 20 yards or less so i have no doubt that you hit your mark. The advantages for arc becomes much more apparent at distances of 30 or greater. It is also much more important when hunting hillsides and elevations 18' and above. If you dont have arc, Once in stand youre supposed to range things at eye level instead of ground level to get somewhat accurate readings. The problem you run into with that is you cant always get a reading at eye level in alot of spots.
That is what I do out of my 15' ladders as my range finder does not have ARC either. I just take the range of the tree straight out at eye level 15' up and not point down to the trunk.

AT the distance of my shots 35 yards and under I do not see an issue. The greater issue to me would be using the wrong sight by an inaccurate guesstimate.






"Only takes a second to change your season" Dad, 1980
RB is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 06:00 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 5C
Posts: 863
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

I have the Bushnell 1200 legend. I got this model with the arc because I shoot long range rifle and hunt on some steep terrain at times. (on the edge of a bench) In my opinion it's not really necessary. If I was in your boat. I wouldn't drop the extra cash on one. Like Buck said, in and around 25 yards you'll be fine. I check from all my stands, and wait for the arc readings. Even from some of the pretty drastic angels and about 30-35 yards from my stand, most of the compensation is about 2-4 yards. Personally I think we can all make that adjustment on our own.
Gunjack is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 08:12 PM
dce
Sage
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: dubois
Posts: 20,326
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

Quote:
Originally Posted by RB-HPA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck Whisperer
Its rarely a problem for distances around 20 yards or less so i have no doubt that you hit your mark. The advantages for arc becomes much more apparent at distances of 30 or greater. It is also much more important when hunting hillsides and elevations 18' and above. If you dont have arc, Once in stand youre supposed to range things at eye level instead of ground level to get somewhat accurate readings. The problem you run into with that is you cant always get a reading at eye level in alot of spots.
That is what I do out of my 15' ladders as my range finder does not have ARC either. I just take the range of the tree straight out at eye level 15' up and not point down to the trunk.

AT the distance of my shots 35 yards and under I do not see an issue. The greater issue to me would be using the wrong sight by an inaccurate guesstimate.
That's all you have to do.If you do that and then range the bottom of the tree,you're rarely off by a yard or two.If I range a deer,I just subtract a yard or two.
dce is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-04-2013, 12:02 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Pa.Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Pa. 2A
Posts: 4,610
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

I have a Bushnell 450 yardage pro scout and the 1000 with arc. The arc compensation is usually in the 2-3 yard range and i always hunt over 25 feet. I was hunting last night at around 30 feet in my climber because the wind was swirling and i ranged a tree at i think was 22 yards and it said to shoot 16 because of the extreme angle.

The older I get the better I was.
Pa.Bone is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-04-2013, 12:39 PM
Regular Visitor
 
randy darsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Zelienople, PA
Posts: 93
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

I recently purchased a Bushnell The Truth( range finder, which does have arc, and honestly, I don't see a need for it really. As others have said, it really necessary, but I do like the range finder, and if you really want one with arc, the truth is $200 at Bass Pro.
randy darsh is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-04-2013, 01:57 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lycoming county
Posts: 2,430
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

For the majority of hunting situations with a bow it probably isn't necessary? If you make a good shot at reasonable yardage being a yard or 2 off won't make a difference to the deer! I got mine when I was really into the serious 3-d competitions and wanted to check myself on my yardasge estimations. A small 3-d animal with a 12 ring that is the size of a dime and 10 ring in the half dollar size range will show that yard or 2 difference in a hurry.
Asajoe1 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-04-2013, 02:02 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,551
Back To Top
Re: Range Finder

Unless my trig serves me wrong the dimensions are off a bit. I figured that, if you were up 30 feet, your shot (and line of sight) would be 35 feet. If you were ranging the base of the tree at 66 feet (22 yards) the horizontal distance would be 56 feet (~19 yards) rather than 16 yards. What I generally do is range the base of a tree then range the tree horizontally.
Turkeyman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome