Having trouble getting my new sight set up - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-12-2014, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Having trouble getting my new sight set up

I need some help with my bow. I put new 60x strings on it since it has never had them changed out (7 year old bow). At the same time I also installed a new sight. It's a Truglo Carbon XS sight. The problem I have is the sight is adjusted down as far as it will go. It has pins 4 and they are also set as low as they will go in the housing. The top pin is set at 20 yards and I'm right on, but I'm not sure if I can even set the other pins, haven't tried yet actually. But this seems wrong. Being that I'm pretty new to archery, I'm not sure what I should adjust, or how. I can post pictures later this afternoon if that would be helpful.

Maybe this isn't wrong, but it just feels like everything should be more centered and not at the extreme end of the tolerances of the sight.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-12-2014, 01:52 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Having trouble getting my new sight set up

When you had new strings put on did you have the arrow knocking point checked,leveled. Is your peep set right. It should be in a position which is natural, that is you do not move your head to see through the peep.

Did they have to crank your bow down in poundage to press it and put the new strings on and not crank it back up. With everything having to be low on the site, that means you are raisin the bow to hit the 20 yard target.

Maybe I'm missing something, but you should have your 20 yard pin at near the top of the site, allowing enough room to have a good site picture. Then shoot your bow, adjust only the site housing axis till the 20 yards is spot on. Then all other pins should just fall in below as the distance increases.

RIP Tuff 98-11, So many hunts, so many good times!