newbie... want setup help. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
Regular Visitor

newbie... want setup help.

Well, like the title says, I am just getting into compound. The last two years I've been using a crossbow, but for various reasons I've decided to switch to compound. So now I have a bare bow, and need to get it set up. I've got a general idea about what I'd like, but want some input from somebody with experience. My first question is rest. Should I get a whisker biscuits or go with a dropaway. If so, what brand should I use? Next is sights. I've heard a lot about 1 pin and am really leaning towards using the hha 5510? I think that's it. But if someones got a really good point against it, I'd love to hear what they have to say. Most of my extended family archery hunts, so I am slightly familiar with that idea of it, but any input is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 08:58 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Re: newbie... want setup help.

To be honest, a whisker biscuit will do everything you need if your hunting. Drop-aways are amazing and you can really notice there advantage at longer yardages,but I think that if your just starting out with a compound, 25 yards max should be great with the whisker biscuit.

As far as sights go, just starting out you could use a single pin sighted into 25 yards and be good. If it is adjustable, you can use it as you grow more and more confident as well.

Spilled blood on our hands fuels reverence for our quarry.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 08:59 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Personally I think the drop aways are great. I shoot a ripcord but the QAD and others are great too. You will be glad you did. Usually your groups shrink noticeably when you switch.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-25-2014, 09:56 PM
The Man