Lyman Plains Rifle .50 caliber questions - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 12-07-2009, 08:16 PM Thread Starter

Lyman Plains Rifle .50 caliber questions

What do you recommend for bullet and powder. I am new to this. I have conicals now. Would like to know what you recommend as powder charge for conicals and any input you would like to add about anything or any load for this gun.It is a .50 caliber. Any info is appreciated. I have 240 grain hornady conicals and Goex powder. The conicals say 1/66 twist and it these were the recommendation of the gun dealer so it must be a 1/66 or better twist.
I am not sure how to tell if it is the Great Plains hunter or Great Plains rifle which have different twists. It says Great Plains Rifle on the barrel. Nice gun. I have had it several years and haven't shoot it much. I am thinking about hunting this flintlock season and any input would really be appreciated. I know a great gun like this and I haven't used it, sounds like I am a jerk or have more money than brains but that is surely not the case. I have spent way too much time chasing squirrel dogs.
Thank you

You canít get them if you ainít in the woods!!
<span style="font-weight: bold">GOD BLESS</span>
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 12-07-2009, 08:44 PM

Re: Lyman Plains Rifle .50 caliber questions

First what is your twist and what range hunting will you be doing. If it is a standard slow twist, it will be more accurate with patched round balls. And of course with a given powder charge, a round ball will go faster and keep a fair amount of it's power within 70 yards. Once you get beyond that the advantages of a conical CAN take over.