Cleaning between shots? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 05:27 PM Thread Starter

Cleaning between shots?

I am somewhat new to flintlock hunting(2nd year) and I was wondering how often you clean your barrel when sighting in and how you do it. Also, any tips on sighting in in general would be much appreciated.

“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.” C.S. Lewis
NRA, UBP, NWTF MEMBER
WCO David Grove, LODD 11/11/10
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 05:47 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I don't. if your combination of ball, patch, lube and charge are all working together then there should be no need to clean between shots. one big tip on sighting in I would give, is where that first shot goes from a clean barrel compared to the shots after it. that is the shot that counts the most. if the stars are aligned with you combination, then there shouldn't be enough difference to worry about.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 06:45 PM

The key to accuracy is consistency. Some guns seem to do better than others with out swabbing between shots. Some shooters are just so bad, they can't tell the difference. Some shooters are so inconsistent with the rest of their loading procedure that it does not matter in their shooting.