Switch from 3F to 2F - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-15-2015, 06:27 AM Thread Starter

Switch from 3F to 2F

I've been shooting 60 grains of 3F in my T/C Hawken for quite a few years now. POI with conicals and PRB's is practically identical. My concern is I always lose some powder out of my vent liner (RMC), I believe stepping up to 2F would solve this.

Approximately how much do I need to increase my charge to keep velocity close if I decide to switch?

I don't hunt turkeys because I want to, I hunt turkeys because I have to.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-15-2015, 07:59 AM
The Man

Re: Switch from 3F to 2F

Start out with 80 grains measurement of 2f and move upwards from there if things indicate you need to. You should be in the ball park for a similar velocity. I would place a higher value on the point of impact as you work up this new load. JMHO.

You have a vent liner that is said to be "self priming". In the off season, you may want to consider replacing that liner with a Jim Chambers White Lighting. It will require drilling out the threads of the old hole and tapping new threads. It would solve your problem allowing you to back to the 3F. I can guarantee, that ignition time will not be compromised.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-15-2015, 04:35 PM
New Arrival