Think I know what killed the TC Hawken - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
The Man

Think I know what killed the TC Hawken

First, the TC Hawken doesn't fire the fancy new bullets with sabots that have come out for inline muzzleloaders. Newbies like new bullets. They like using sabots. Why using round balls with a cloth patch isn't new enough.

But I think a good reason for slowed sales is that legalese 50 page manual, that explains how to use the muzzleloader. Haven't looked at it in years.

I got exasperated looking at it. And I've been shooting the rifle for over 30 years. A newbie without help in using the rifle was looking for a headache. A 50 page manual is bad enough. The legalese is tiring.
I'm glad I had a mentor who was experienced in using TC products. He made learning it very easy. Much easier than learning from their manual.

It's a great rifle to use. The manual was never great.
And once the turning point was reached where newbies had to learn from the manual, rather than from a user, the downturn of rifle was inevitable. Great rifle maker; not so great at making an inviting manual. And yes, it was inevitable that newbies would want to use fancy new bullets in an old flintlock.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 12:43 PM
The Man

Re: Think I know what killed the TC Hawken

I shot my first Flinter deer with a TC Renegade in 54 cal. Never looked at a manual it was a borrowed rifle they showed me how to use it and shot it several times beforehand. They also told me how to be safe with it.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-11-2015, 01:03 PM
The Man

Not sure that in this day & age, the manual would be a real sticking point. There are probably 1000 (didn't look......just guessing) simple tutorial on YouTube explaining EVERY aspect of making a flinter go off then cleaning it up.

demokraten saugen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement