Do quads frighten off deer on the ride in? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-27-2018, 08:12 AM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Do quads frighten off deer on the ride in?

Hi. I am new to Hunting Pa, and a newly disability hunter, have obtained all the permits to use my King Quad for deer hunting anywhere in Pa, and secured permission to use my quad on the private farm I hunted for years. My question for others who are in the same situation of no longer being able to drag deer, and have a lot of problem walking, is do you drive your quad right to the stand location? Does the quad affect how the deer move when riding in while dark? What do you do to overcome these things?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-27-2018, 08:28 AM
Frequent Contributor

In my experience, the deer don't seem to be bothered by the quads at all...
I too primarily hunt a farm, and they've been using ATV's for almost 20 years.
The deer there only seem to care about them during in-season daylight hours, and only if you stop near them, or happen to ride straight at them.
I've ridden into the blind 20 minutes before sunrise and taken deer 30 minutes later, rode in mid-afternoon and taken deer before I could get fully setup in the blind.
I think it all depends on what they're used to.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-27-2018, 08:32 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Depends with the deer's personal experience with them. Can be conditioned to ignore them, be attracted to them, or be terrified of them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-27-2018, 08:38 AM

2 of us each drive quads in an park under our stand. This year my cousin killed a big 8 point a half hour later. I find that if you drive in at a reduced steady speed many times they will just stand and watch you. I have spooked just as many walking in.
blackpowder and Buckskin Dave like this.