Tips for a solo bear hunter. - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-02-2012, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
Part of the Community

Tips for a solo bear hunter.

Hello all. It looks like I will be a Lone Ranger out in the bear woods this season. I am a newbie when it comes to bear hunting. I am looking to see if anyone has some advice on how and where to hunt bear when it is just a single hunter. Any advice or tips will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Deer tremble at the sound of my name....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-02-2012, 01:24 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Tips for a solo bear hunter.

Depends where you're hunting and what's around. Some places a lot of guys do great in the swamps. Other places guys do really will hunting hillsides above standing corn. Where I hunt in the big woods you're best bet is to hunt a wide open hollow with lots of visibility where there are other hunters. Wait until they get the itch and start moving the bears around and increase your chances of seeing them move through.

<span style="color: yellow">Trying to understand women is like trying to smell the color nine. -Ferrell</span>
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-02-2012, 10:26 PM
Part of the Community

I am guessing you are going to hunt around Mercer Co. as your from Greenville. Not a ton of public land. I would try my best to scout out some bear sign in places you are able to hunt or ask permission where you have seen bears/sign. Spotlighting may not be a bad option where you are. Bearklr has it right for the big woods. Also, talk with folks in your hunting area. Information can be had from many different sources.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-02-2012, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Community