Bear weight - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
The Man

Bear weight

Sure not trying to start any Controversy here, just curious of others opinions.
First off I've never shot a Bear and only hunted them twice even though I see plenty in the area of Potter Co. I hunt.
There was a posted report on another forum of and out of state hunt.
Three of the male bears taken were 87 , 95 and 112 Lbs. I'm no expert judging a Bears live weight but have observed enough of them
around Camp and in the Wild that I think a Bear in that weight range has got to be pretty small.
There are several characteristics to aid in guessing the live weight.
Hats off to those who have been successful but just can't see taking an 87 Lb. Bear regardless of what the hunt cost me.
Just looking for opinions here, not a bashing session.

Potter County
Gods Country USA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 01:12 PM
The Man

Depends on your mindset, I guess.

We are Christmas tree farmers. Bears cost us a lot of money some years. We hunt them because we don't like them. Our gang's philosophy is that bears are just like house cats...………….they're cute when they're little but there's no compelling reason to let them live past about 8 months.

We've killed bears from almost 70 pounds to almost 700 pounds. No regrets from anyone for any of them.

demokraten saugen
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 01:14 PM
dgc
Frequent Contributor

Ive bear hunted about 10 yrs and heres my 2 cents field judging bear is one of the hardest things Ive taken 3 in pa all with a bow under 20 yrds and they all lost a lot of wieght from the time I shot em to walking up to them the first was 13 yrds and I KNEW it was 300 lbs it was 165 the 2nd 2 yrs later was 9 yrds and I KNEW that one was 250 to 300 lbs it was 185 the 3rd was 15 yrds and I thought it was 300 again but it was 250