Elderberry wine - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2009, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Elderberry wine

This is my first year making from beginning to end. My father-in-law has handed down all of his winemaking stuff. Over the years I was working out of state when he made it and when we came home all I ever got to see/help him with was the racking process and bottling. This year I'm doing it all. What a fun and enjoyable hobby IMO. I got 5 gals in the secondary fermenter already. The berries were ready down stae earlier than up here in Bradford. I'm going to pick some more and start another 5 gals this sunday.

Any other home winemakers out there with any comments or advice? I have three books that I have read from front to back two-three times already. When I tested my specific gravity in the primary fermenter I had a 1.090. When I racked my wine into the glass carboy/secondary fermenter I had a specific gravity of 1.030 so I think I'm on a good start. I'm at .6 tartaric as well. Everything is looking good thus far.

Who is John Galt?

Nothing like a good bird dog and a fine shotgun.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2009, 03:31 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Elderberry wine

I'm a little gun shy to do anything with elderberries after making jelly with them last year. It took me hours to clean the crap off of everything. What do you use to clean all of your gear off?
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-18-2009, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

I use Green Works, it's a all natural/biodegradable cleaner. It's made from plants and minerals. Clorox actually makes it. My father-in-law mentioned something about some citronella cleaner I didn't see it when I went to my local store so I used the green stuff and some good old elbow grease. My mother-in-law makes the jelly I'll ask her what she uses. Probably that citronella stuff though.

Who is John Galt?