Question about onions - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-02-2009, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
TEE

Question about onions

This is my first year growing onions and wondered what is the best way to dry them.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-02-2009, 06:08 PM
Sage

Re: Question about onions

Some folks braid the leaves together and hang them in a dry breezy place. I used to lay mine on a screen(Hardware cloth) off the ground and not touching each other.

When you are up to your butt in alligators, it is hard to remember your intent was to drain the swamp. Stay focused!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-02-2009, 11:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by John S
Some folks braid the leaves together and hang them in a dry breezy place. I used to lay mine on a screen(Hardware cloth) off the ground and not touching each other.
What John is Saying but he missed adding a few things...

Don't pull the onions until the tops fall over...

Then after you pull them, take them and cut the tops off so they are about less then an inch from the top of the Bulb.....

Then just nip the roots off the bottom...

Then lay them out on a Screen so air can circulate around them and they are not Touching...

What ever you do, do not lay them out in the sun...you can scald them like a Potatoe will do in the sun....

Once dry, store in a cool Dry place and you should be able to store them if you have MANY , all thru the winter and maybe have some left over when you go to planting next spring!

What kind of Onions did you plant?