Plot progress - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 63 (permalink) Old 08-17-2017, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

Plot progress

Working on my first plot with the help of others on this forum. I was asked to share some progress notes and photo's of my efforts as I endeavored to put the plot in.

Right off the bat I want to acknowledge the advice that QAWC, WOL, 25FTUP, DennyF and all others have provided. Thanks up front for your information.

Since this is my first attempt at a food lot, I wanted to limit my expectations for the size of the plot, instead trying to focus on quality instead of quantity. I am glad I did now as my old bones really were talking to me. I ended up working a 100'x60' piece of ground. My thinking was "let's try this first and if it works out well, I always have the option and remaining area to double/triple the size.

Right off the bat I made a mistake. I started by using my box blade teeth to rip up the field, followed by 4-5 runs with a disc. Thinking through what everyone told me, I should have simply sprayed the area with Round Up and then let it sit for a few days before doing the same thing with the box blade and disc. As a result, I ended up with a thick layer of weeds and grass that were in fact dying off, but were thick enough that I was concerned with seed contact when and if. I ended up using a drag to "pile" up the waste and "pitch forked" it off to the side, deciding I would then broadcast it over the plot later on down the road as a form of mulch. In the meantime it really improved my ability to bare the soil for eventual planting. A lot more work but I was happier about the near term future now.