Habitat Question? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-06-2011, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Habitat Question?

With all the recent storms my property is loaded with fallen trees and branches. I know that creating brush piles benefits a lot of small game species and I try to do this in my field sections. My question is,would creating brush piles in the wooded section help the turkeys or just give the predators a place in which to ambush the birds? Than You!

It's breeding,training...and something unknown.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 06:06 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: Habitat Question?

I have no first hand experience with how brushpiles work for turkeys but I would think if you could pile it up with a opening in the center to allow enough room for them to land/ take off it would be a help till the snow shows up. The key I think being that you may not keep the predators out but you will buy the turkeys some time to escape. It would have to be awful high for a bobcat or yote to not be able to jump on and over a pile. And I'm not even gonna imagine that a bear or fisher wouldn't go over or thru a pile pretty quick but would def make some noise doing it.

Providing PA landowners with professional habitat strategies
PTA Dist 11
SFI #5899
QDMA LCPI

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman

Thanks for the response!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 10:35 PM
Frequent Contributor

downed logs and slash will provide nesting cover. Openings on the forest floor may yield herbaceous growth which will attract insects, and as a result will attract turkeys.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-14-2011, 11:12 PM

From one of our wild turkey biologists: