replacing antlers on mount - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-19-2014, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 569
Back To Top
replacing antlers on mount

can antlers be switched on shoulder mount, I have 2 nice bucks I got- wanted to have mounted but the capes went bad so rather than go thru buying a cape and having them done at a taxidermist, I bought 2 shoulder mounts off Ebay is it fairly easy-can I do it myself or how much would it cost me to have this done.
cornfed23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-19-2014, 12:33 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Washington County, PA
Posts: 1,872
Back To Top
Re: replacing antlers on mount

It can be done. Can you do it? Sure, but I doubt you will be happy with the results.

2B, 2A, South East NE, Jefferson National Forest VA
'Pinnin Ain't Easy' 'TR' East Ohio


beck_trt is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-19-2014, 09:33 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
muskyman62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,575
Back To Top
Re: replacing antlers on mount

really feel you should have bought the capes....i have seen this attempted and they ended up in the hands of a taxidermist anyways and the cost was considerable.

You want me to put my ear to the ground? Listen for hoof beats? Look for broken twigs?
muskyman62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-20-2014, 04:22 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 569
Back To Top
Re: replacing antlers on mount

thanks for the advise guys sounds like it may be pretty hard to do with out ruining them - a job for a taxidermist I guess. muskyman, what was the main problem the person who attempted it ran into?
cornfed23 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-20-2014, 04:51 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
muskyman62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,575
Back To Top
Re: replacing antlers on mount

i am not exactly sure...i saw the completed project and the taxidermist i am friends with explained that the mount came in butchered and he ultimately had to buy a whole new cape. if i remember correctly he salvaged the form but i may be wrong.

You want me to put my ear to the ground? Listen for hoof beats? Look for broken twigs?
muskyman62 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-20-2014, 11:34 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 569
Back To Top
Re: replacing antlers on mount

I was kicking the idea around the biggest problem I can see is softening up the hide around the antlers and down the back of the head getting it plyable enough to work with. only thing I came up with is soaking the top of the head in a pickling solution, just wondering if that will hurt it or make the hair slip.
cornfed23 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome