European Mount - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

European Mount

I have shot a 7-point in archery season, not a trophy buck, but I would still like to attempt a European mount with this buck. I know you can have it sent out and beetles can do the work, however, I'm considering two other methods. First, i have heard of burying the skull, by covering the antlers in a garbage bag and removing as much as possible prior to burying. I know that this may result in a skull that is not pure white, but is natural. Second, I've heard of "boiling" and picking away at the flesh material. A concern for burying are that rodents or bugs may decay the antlers? Any suggestions for this European skull mount since I have never done this before? I realize that I will have to glue in the teeth or nose piece, and that the lower jaw will have to be tied in, eventually. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 05:21 PM

Re: European Mount

I have used the boiling method. It is a little bit of work and it helps to get as much of the "stuff" off as you can. I used a coat hanger to get the brains out. Oh yes DON'T use your wife's good pot!
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 05:27 PM

either way ya do it Pitt11, you can still bleach it. like spark said....dont use your wifes good pot and it is probably a good idead not to even let her see it. lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 05:35 PM
Banned

Location: The village of Saint Thomas, Franklin County, PA 4B, but most likely hunting in either 4A or 2C