elk backpacking gear - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-09-2018, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

elk backpacking gear

I'm looking for clothes that could be worn on a backpacking trip in elk country. I'm hunting in mid October so temps should be in the 30s at night time and 50s during the day. I'm anticipating doing a great deal of walking. I'm new to this so any advice would be appreciated. I'm not set on a budget right now so if you give me a cheap and expensive option or even a low middle and high price range I would appreciate it. Specific brands are encouraged.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-09-2018, 11:06 PM

Polyester pants, lot of good options. Sitka, First Lite, Prana.

Good merino socks and merino or poly boxers.

Lightweight merino t-shirt or quarter zip. I like First Lite aerowool best.

Midweight fleece or puffy jacket. Sitka Kelvin Lite is my go to.

Packable quiet rain shell. I like Cabelas space rain.

Definitely don't skimp on boots especially at the expense of clothes. Get a pair of gaiters too.

Camo doesn't mean much with elk they aren't too visually wary.

Stuff is most expensive this time of year. Good sales around the holidays and then inventory close out in winter.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-14-2018, 09:51 PM
New Arrival

Backpacking and elk hunting means lite weight, dry and warm. You don't want to skimp on clothing quality as your life may depend on it at 10k feet in the fall. Look at Sitka and First Lite. Yes it's expensive but well worth the money when all you have to protect you from the elements is a thin sheet of nylon.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-16-2018, 04:30 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa

Zippered pile hoodie with pockets. Great if you can afford an extra piece of gear for camp or if works into your layered daily wear.