I need a GPS and a mapping program - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2017, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
The Man

I need a GPS and a mapping program

I'm partial to Garmin products and I was thinking OnX mapping. But that's ALL negotiable..........

Tell me what you're using, if you would, please.

What do you like about it ?? What don't you like about it ??

Thanks in advance !!!!

demokraten saugen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2017, 08:56 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Iíve been using a Garmin 60csx for years. The 60 series is no longer made, having been replaced by the 64 series. What I donít like is that itís no longer made.

I use it for hunting, geocaching and before getting a dedicated vehicle GPS, for driving. I have Topo 2008 loaded into it. I have no idea how much detail more current maps show.

Steve
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2017, 10:38 PM

I've been using OnX for a few months now. I really like it, but my only complaint is that sometime the app gets "buggy" and does not show the property owner info. It usually shows up again if you restart it, but that's my only complaint.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2017, 11:02 PM
Regular Visitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strut10 View Post
I'm partial to Garmin products and I was thinking OnX mapping. But that's ALL negotiable..........

Tell me what you're using, if you would, please.

What do you like about it ?? What don't you like about it ??

Thanks in advance !!!!
Hey man, so I was literally in your boat last week.
I am fortunate enough to get my hands on products to test before I get them myself.
Funny enough, I just got done testing OnX and a Garmin Foretrex 401.

Test result, I ended up buying a subscription to OnX and sent a thank you for letting me test the Garmin Foretrex.