The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

NY magazine capcity

3K views 36 replies 11 participants last post by  bohunr 
#1 ·
I am not sure if this is the correct forum if not move to appropriate forum please …

I recently bought a CZ 75 Compact P-01 …. regular mags are 14 round of which I have 2 and I bought 2 10 round after market mags.

If I carry under LEOSA provision in NYS, can I use either magazine size if I load only 7 rounds in either or am I SOL?

#2 ·
i would say SOL because the magazine capacity is over what they allow. i too have my leosa and have been talking with Congressman Kellys office to get things like this changed.

you can be a retired FBI agent, carry under LEOSA and get nabbed and jailed for having to many rounds in your carry gun, even under LEOSA...makes no sense.

I want it changed to whatever is legal in your state is legal everywhere under LEOSA !!

HEY..whats french fry maker at McDonalds doing with a LEOSA card :)

#3 ·
I am a LEOSA instructor and always tell the guys I qualify to follow the rules of the state you may be going into. The LEOSA website is a wealth of information regarding these types of questions. New York is a 7 round mag capacity State. When I go to Lake Oneida I take a Glock 43 which is a 6 round mag. You cant interpret how many rounds you have in the mag, it is what the mag is capable of holding.

#16 ·
Well, if you are qualified to instruct and qualify LEOSA, I would brush up on your knowledge if I were you. I do LEOSA and NY is a 10-round Mag limit, not 7-rounds. The 7-round Mag limit was struck down in 2013. This is copied from safeact.ny.gov.

Magazines
Q: How does the SAFE Act impact magazines?