What is "working up a load" - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2014, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
Hooked on HuntingPa

What is "working up a load"

I have been reloading for a couple years now and have read many times about people "working up a load". What are you looking for when doing this? And what tells you you have the "ideal" load?
Since most of my ammo is used at the range to just plink and practice form, I start with the min. powder charge and add to it as need. I use mostly semi-auto pistols so as long as the load works the slide and ejects the case, I feel I have found a good load.
Thanks...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2014, 02:51 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: What is "working up a load"

from my understanding its doin as you do with the min powder charge, and workin up to get the fastest, best group holding load. I guess changing projectiles would go under this too. some guys might load for reduced recoil

Dont knock it till you've tried it
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2014, 05:55 PM
The Man

It is when mostly rifle re-loaders are trying to find the best possible load for that particular firearm. Not necessary for reduced recoil. I have been reloading pistol for many years. Shot Police Combat Pistol as well for many years. I also played around with semi's, finding a load to shoot mostly lead tips from my 5906 without stripping the bullet in the barrel. But I have found lead tips in an auto is terrible! One of the main reasons I switched to a wheel gun or revolver.

John-LifeNRA http://www.NRA.org
YOU NEVER KNOW! Words from my Father!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-26-2014, 06:08 PM