Mounting a Scope - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2012, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: 19512
Posts: 970
Back To Top
Mounting a Scope

I've mounted plenty on air guns and 22's. Now I want to put one on my inline(replace actually, the base and ring bottoms are already on). Do I really need a torqe screw driver? I'm hesitent to put one on something with this kind of recoil. I'm afraid or over/under tightening the rings. Am I over thinking this? Thanks.
wstrouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2012, 01:23 PM
The Man
 
Buckshot1822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clearfield County (2G)
Posts: 5,807
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

No you do not need a torque driver. And yes you are over thinking this.

"Most people miss opportunity because it comes dressed in overalls, and looks like hard work"
Buckshot1822 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2012, 01:59 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hazleton, PA 4C
Posts: 362
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

Simply put a drop of Lock Tite on the screw threads and then tighten but you dont have to crank it beyond snug to do the job. Good luck and safe shooting....

4C

**** GO Pack GO ****
schr8er2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2012, 02:26 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Under a Hemlock in the rain
Posts: 3,691
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

i've mounted scopes on everything from 22's to 450 marlins without torque drivers or lock tite and none have loosened after many shots.

My diploma is a DD Form 214
pumpgun is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2012, 02:32 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: 19512
Posts: 970
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

Thanks for all the help, any tricks to making sure the gun is perfectly vertical when leveling the cross hairs?
wstrouse is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2012, 04:21 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gettysburg
Posts: 1,142
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

ONLY LOCKTITE THE BASES. Get the bases good and snug, and use BLUE locktite, not RED. If you use red you WILL need heat to get the bases off later. NEVER use Locktite on rings. Don't overtighten the rings, you will damage the scope. Snug plus a little bit extra is enough. Try to level the gun in a cradle of some sorts, and use a string with a weight hanging (like a plumb bob) to line up your X-hairs.
bownut is online now  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-28-2012, 12:51 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
SonicHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lancaster County Pa
Posts: 397
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

Get the wheeler level level level its two tools that are basicaly bubble levels one goes on the gun to make it level the second one goes on the scopes elevation turret and just match the bubbles. you will be suprized how much long range accuracy increases
SonicHog is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-28-2012, 01:14 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Eastern,Pa
Posts: 3,770
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

Snug your mount screws and walk away for a half hour. When you return you will get another easy 3/4 turn or so. Metal fatigues under stress. Plus one on only loktite the bases, if you do so at all. The more evenly you turn the screws, the more close to perfect your alignment will be. When you tighten the ring screws, count your turns. Do the same number of turns on each side, a few at a time. If you do it right, they will all be snug about the same time. Look for obvious gaps in your rings on each side as you go. You do not need anything but a screwdriver and the ability to count. There is really nothing to it.

"Be nice, until its time to not be nice" (Patrick Swayze...Roadhouse)
Joe the Logger is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-28-2012, 12:14 PM
Regular Member
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: N - E PA
Posts: 1,906
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

I use Blue LOCKTITE on the bases only,Lapp the scope rings..approximately 15% contact made if not Lapped or 75% if Lapped and the Level-Level-Level and you accuracy will be excellent!! I re-mounted all of my scopes 7-8 years ago and the results were amazing...

Hunt Safe
Jack
Jack is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-28-2012, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
octagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh,PA.
Posts: 12,604
Back To Top
Re: Mounting a Scope

Blue Locktite or Clear Nail Polish works just as well.

Life Memeber NRA
Life Memeber NAHC
octagon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome