Break in new barrel - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
New Arrival
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SW PA
Posts: 38
Back To Top
Break in new barrel

I recently purchased a new Remington 700 in .300 Win Mag and I've heard a million ways to properly break in the barrel. Shoot 1 shot, swab the barrel then shoot another, etc. Any suggestions on how to properly break in/season a new rifle barrel?

Bowtech Destroyer340. Rage.
WMU: 2B and 2A.
PaBowHunter340 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 12:15 PM
Part of the Community
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lycoming county Pa.
Posts: 194
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

If you talk to most custom barrel makers that's exactly how they recommend doing it.
scapper is offline  
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 12:22 PM
The Man
 
mackgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jonestown, PA
Posts: 5,555
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

I do it with a box of shells. I usually reload so I just buy a factory box of the cheapest shell I can get my hands on. I usually fire one shot, then clean the barrel after each shot for the first 4 rounds. Then I fire two rounds and clean it after each two shots for the next 6 rounds. Then I fire two strings of 3 shots and clean after each 3 shot string. Then I finally fire a four round string and clean it good before I head home. I don't think that there is a true exact science to it, but this works well for me and ultimately gets the job done in one box of shells. Hope this works out for you and good luck!

Mac
mackgee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 12:22 PM
Regular Member
 
b&ghuntre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bucks co. pa.
Posts: 2,264
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

I've heard many way's and reasons for new break in. The whole point is to take the edge off of riflein??? Most good barrels (quality) are just about as clean as can be. I do a dry patch after 1st. shot. Then again after 5 shots. Don;t know why I do it this way just me I guess. I've talked to many guy's about this and everyone has a different way. The best advice I think I got was 1- shoot 2- shoot 3- shoot....later
b&ghuntre is offline  
post #5 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 12:32 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
Muab Dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: S Central PA 5A
Posts: 2,577
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

I'm not an advocate of the "break-in" procedure. Simply clean the bore and then sight the rifle in and clean it. Shoot some more the next time at the range and clean it...after a few range sessions your rifle will be "broken-in" without all the muss and fuss. I often wonder how we (and our barrels) ever survived the "dark ages" before all this high tech barrel break-in process was deemed essential.

Muab

"There is no District 12"
Muab Dib is offline  
post #6 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 02:59 PM
Regular Member
 
b&ghuntre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bucks co. pa.
Posts: 2,264
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

Your right. My new factory rifles went to the range sight in then shoot a group and clean at home. My 2 customs I did as I said above. Most new barrels settle into nice groups after about 50=100 rounds imo. It's the ol sayen Don't fix somethin that anit broke. Over thinkin!!! Just Shoot. Greatmines think alike....later
b&ghuntre is offline  
post #7 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 07:55 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bradford County, PA.
Posts: 1,060
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

Even custom barrel makers can't agree on the "proper" break in procedure. For the most part its merely speculative and there is no real way to know if a break in routine affected a barrel positively or negatively. Anymore I don't bother with it.

WMU 3A
wdchuckhuntr is offline  
post #8 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 09:24 PM
The Man
 
hunt/fish365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Turbotville
Posts: 6,212
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

I never bothered. Never had a problem either.

Venison - The other fast food
hunt/fish365 is offline  
post #9 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 09:37 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 1,344
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

If you take a little care to properly break in your barrel, you will have many years and thousands of rounds of accurate shooting and easy maintenance, treat your rifle like you do your most valued tool as one day it might be.

And to compare the quality of machining on a custom barrel to that of your typical factory barrel is like comparing Honda cars to Corvettes!

Really is shooting and cleaning your new rifle that big a burden.
bawanajim is offline  
post #10 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-05-2012, 09:43 PM
The Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington Co. Pa.
Posts: 9,332
Back To Top
Re: Break in new barrel

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunt/fish365
I never bothered. Never had a problem either.
+1
good ole boy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome