Taurus revolvers - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 07:09 PM Thread Starter

Taurus revolvers

In the market for a revolver to carry on a few bear drives a year. Anyone own or been around any Taurus model 44 or raging bulls. Seeing mixed reviews online some guy love some hate them. Would love a ruger super redhawk. But 900 bucks is tough to swallow for a few days a year. Plus looking for pro's and con's of single vs double action. Thanks for any info.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 07:25 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

I had a .454 Casull Raging Bull. Shot well and held up well. I thought it was a good gun for the money. I do favor Rugers or S&W over Taurus, but if your budget will not allow, I did not think the Taurus I had was a bad gun.
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 08:15 PM
Sage

I was a firearms instructor for over 20 years for the PGC. I instructed and qualified WCO's and Deputy WCOs in handgun and police shotgun shooting. I tried to lead the deputies to either S&W, Colt or Ruger revolvers in 4 inch barrel.357 Mag which was the caliber and style required by the agency and deputies had to provide their own duty firearms. I can safely say that it was a rarity to hold a training session or qualification where some deputies had Taurus revolvers that at least one didn't seize up and not index and the deputy could not finish the training or qualification course until the gun cooled down and we had to do the qualification in increments. Most of those deputy promptly traded their Taurus revolvers for a different brand. Due to my experience with Taurus revolvers, I would never but or carry one.
jimsdad and gentleben like this.

When you are up to your butt in alligators, it is hard to remember your intent was to drain the swamp. Stay focused!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 08:22 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman