Model 340 help - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 5Likes
  • 2 Post By Stuffer
  • 1 Post By Dogface
  • 1 Post By Trout 48
  • 1 Post By 59Willys
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Muncy,Pa
Posts: 1,627
Back To Top
Model 340 help

I just got back my Savage model 340 that I sold to my buddy 25 yrs. ago. He had the stock off of it and did some awesome carving work to it. I put new scope on it yesterday. Sighting it in today and it wants to shoot all around the dot,. My Question.. on the model 340 did they have a floating barrel that you can slide a dollar bill under or was they tight in the stock? Iím wondering if my buddy put it back together to tight and itís not floating. Thanks for help and Reading,, Stuffer

Concept Archery Shooter.....99% Letoff
Stuffer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 02:45 PM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,843
Back To Top
What caliber? If it is 30-30 you may be limited by the quality of the ammo.

I worked on one many years ago. I believe there was pressure on the barrel. Try putting a couple of layers of a business card between the forearm tip and the barrel.
Dogface is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 03:40 PM
Sage
 
DennyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cumberland County 5A
Posts: 25,109
Back To Top
I've had one (used) in 22 Hornet since the mid 60s. Mine has a sheet metal band around the barrel that attaches thru the bottom of the stock fore end. So no, the barrel would not be "floated".

Never any accuracy problems with mine, although the "side mount" system for scoping them, is kinda goofy and prone to issues. Mine came with a Weaver K2.5 on it, shot pretty well. Got a different ring mount (the top half) so I could use a more powerful scope and wound up just putting the K2.5 back on. Could never get it to shoot consistent groups with the bigger scope.

Been so long since I've seen one in 30-30, no idea if they also have that barrel band? Although a cousin has a much newer one in 222 and I don't recall it having the band.

>Just looked on Gunbroker and they have them listed in 222, 225 and 30-30. All shown in the pics, have the same barrel band mine does.

Some folks' learnin' curves just look like circles...3A Camp/also hunt 4B

Last edited by DennyF; 11-21-2017 at 03:47 PM.
DennyF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Muncy,Pa
Posts: 1,627
Back To Top
Yes itís a 30/30 and it does have the metal band around the barrel thatís held with a bolt through the forearm. I got about a 2Ē group at 100 yards with it today. I put a Simmons 3x9x32 on it yesterday. I actually sold the gun for $100 to my good friend 25 years ago. He now lives in New Mexico and he left it to me in his Will. My lovely wife sent him a plane ticket in August and he came in for our 25th wedding anniversary and he brought the gun with him and gave it back to me. So I got it back before he even passed away, and I havenít shot it for 25 yrs. until today.. I never knew he was coming in or bringing the gun. It was a shocker...
bigguy54 and Hungry Horse like this.

Concept Archery Shooter.....99% Letoff
Stuffer is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 04:29 PM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,843
Back To Top
Two inches with a 30-30 at 100 yards is not bad.
willyp likes this.
Dogface is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 05:38 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phila Pa
Posts: 420
Back To Top
Two inches with one type of ammo. Try some different ammo and see what it does. Two inches really isn't that bad.
willyp likes this.
Trout 48 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Muncy,Pa
Posts: 1,627
Back To Top
Oh I forgot... shooting Hornady 150 grainers out of it.

Concept Archery Shooter.....99% Letoff
Stuffer is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2017, 08:41 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ..Harborcreek,Pa
Posts: 1,983
Send a message via AIM to 59Willys
Back To Top
I have model 320c Savage in 30-30. I think 340 is a newer model, but all most the same. 2 inch groups at 100 is pretty darn good,for any 30-30. I use 150 grain . Try using other mfg ammo to see what works the best for your gun, anything under 2 inch, be happy.
willyp likes this.
59Willys is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome