Magnetospeed Chronographs? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2017, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
Diehard Outdoorsman
 
WildBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Elizabethtown, Pa, USA
Posts: 3,332
Back To Top
Magnetospeed Chronographs?

Anyone have or have used one? I currently use either a Pact or CED ( no IR screens) . The issues, the set up time, other shooters waiting to get them setup, varying light conditions and having to move them when shooting at various ranges.
Overall, excluding any reported POI shift, they seem to be a good option for the above reasons. I'm looking at both the V3($399) and Sporter($179) models. I really don't need all the bells and whistles of the V3 so I'm leaning towards the Sporter w/the XFR-cell interface plus it will fit nicely in my range box. 99% seem to give either model high marks.
Thoughts?
Bill
WildBill is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-12-2017, 07:13 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 2A
Posts: 285
Back To Top
Love mine. I have the sporter display and the v2 or v3 bayonet. If you call them they can piece together a hybrid kit like mine. I think it was like $250. They are really easy to use and work great. The only reason to use a regular chronograph would be pistols. Depending on the barrel contour, there is some shift. It also can effect harmonics so I don'thave use it while developing a load, just after to check.
huntnfish4life is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-13-2017, 08:55 PM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,231
Back To Top
I played the game with the standard chrono and didn't use them as much as I would like for all the reasons you listed above. I bought the Magnetospeed V3 and use it frequently and love it. Very easy to set up without bothering other shooters, accurate. I usually test loads a couple different ways depending on my mood but somewhere in the process I use the chrono. I haven't really noticed it effecting accuracy of the group size in most of my rifles or at least enough to change the results of load development. I usually fine tune my final loads without it and then once decide on load I want to go with will run some over it to verify velocity for scope settings. Once you use one you will wish you bought it sooner.
huntin-nut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-14-2017, 06:26 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 15065
Posts: 4,440
Back To Top
Never tried Magnetospeed since I can't get with the need to have it on the barrel.I would love a LabRadar but can't justify the cost.

Bob Seger,till it shines.
Hiamovi is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-14-2017, 04:04 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 2A
Posts: 285
Back To Top
Labradar looks cool but I have heard it has some issues with registering suppressed shots and when others are shooting near you. Also seems somewhat fragile. On a private range, it would be nice. Just too expensive for how much I use a chronograph.
huntnfish4life is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2017, 04:27 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambria Co.
Posts: 1,846
Back To Top
Great product it for the average Joe hunting a good old chrony for $69 will do fine.
6-DASHER is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2017, 06:01 AM
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,431
Back To Top
Hanging it from the barrel will change POI when it is off. I'll keep my Chrony.

benchrest
stoolshooter is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2017, 08:41 AM
The Man
 
Dogface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sullivan County or SEPA
Posts: 8,828
Back To Top
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoolshooter View Post
Hanging it from the barrel will change POI when it is off. I'll keep my Chrony.
Interesting point.
Dogface is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome