To inherit pistol- what is needed? - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-21-2017, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

To inherit pistol- what is needed?

So my Uncle just informed me that he will be putting me in his will so I get his .40 Glock when he meets his maker.

I'm trying to find out what I need to do to legally transfer ownership. Can I just take a copy of the Will to an FFL Dealer with the pistol and have it transferred into my name?

Or do I need to do it another way?

He did stipulate that I could NOT have it until he was gone, so I have cannot do anything until that happens.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-21-2017, 12:59 PM

I'm not an expert but I think you take the pistol, along with the executor of the estate, to an FFL. The executor fills out paperwork as the seller.
dragman likes this.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-21-2017, 03:05 PM
The Man

I'm curious to know what the official answer is on this. I don't know for sure, but I don't think there's any paperwork for the seller to fill out in a private sale. I don't think you need to do anything except take the firearm to an FFL and fill out the buyer's form. I've done that before, but maybe the rules have changed. I suppose it can make a difference who the relative is. Maybe it's different for father to son or brother to brother than it is for uncle to nephew or unrelated people.

Steve.

"When you put a buck on your wall, it links you to those guys who painted the walls of caves." --Me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-21-2017, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

Thanks guys. I'm going to stop at a gunshop on the way home today to find out for sure what needs to be done. Just thought maybe there would be someone on here who is an FFL dealer.
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-21-2017, 07:06 PM
tdd
Super Moderator