Browning A-Bolt vs Tikka T-3 - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 01:41 AM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

Browning A-Bolt vs Tikka T-3

Okay, I know that these posts get old on here but the wife gave me the OK for a deer rifle. I've been borrowing a family heirloom from my old man for over two decades. My Grandpaps rifle, acquired in the 1930's for debt owed, is a Savage Model 99 in .300 Although I love that rifle and I've killed many a deer with it, its not mine. I hate to ask to borrow it every fall and then return it every winter.

I've narrowed my choice down to the two aforementioned rifles. Who owns one? what do you like or dislike? From what I've researched on the two company websites I'm ready to toss a coin.
I have narrowed my caliber to .270, not a big fan of the short magnum craze.
I have great optics to place on the gun, i just cant decide which one, as prices are a mirror image.
Help

SGT CARL J. MORGAIN KIA IRAQ 22 MAY 05
A CO 1/112 INF TF 2-7 US ARMY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 01:47 AM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: Browning A-Bolt vs Tikka T-3

t 3 known to be tough and accurate i want one in 243
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 01:50 AM
Hooked on HuntingPa

i own a tikka in 270.action is as smooth as any gun i have picked up.it is also very accurate with 130 gr.fed. ammo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 02:11 AM
Frequent Contributor

I have a T3 in 25-06 it is one smooth gun and very accurate. I will never buy another Remington or anything else for that matter. Just my thoughts for what they are worth
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 05:22 AM

I have both. I prefer the Browning A-Bolt.

Both are accurate.

I like the safety on the Browning better. It is convenient and can be released quietly.