J@B cold weld on action base - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y.
Posts: 1,957
Back To Top
[email protected] cold weld on action base

I like to ask I have a set of bases that do not give me enough eye relief only because the LOP on the stock is 14 1/2 " my set up for me runs around 13 1/2
I can make it work only if I move the rear base to the last hole on the action.
I would have 2 hole(screw set) on the front base and 1 hole(screw set) on the rear base mount :I was thinking in adding some [email protected] to the rear base were no screw is tapped
I would have 3 screws set up
I wonder has any one tried this?to remove the rear base set with [email protected] a little heat will do the job
I hate to spend 40.00 buck for a special base

rifle cva 50 cal. b/p optima mag:
LONEWOLF5347 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 02:24 PM
Sage
 
Woods walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 25,988
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

I wouldn't do that, buy new bases or see if a gunsmith can drill and tap a hole where you want to mount the scope.




When you are up to your butt in alligators, it is hard to remember your intent was to drain the swamp. Stay focused!
Woods walker is online now  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 02:32 PM
Regular Member
 
broknaero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 3D
Posts: 1,768
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

I agree with John. $40.00 isn't much to spend to do the job right. If you JB Weld it you will never trust it. It might last for 100 shots, or it might come off on the first shot. No one can say for sure.

Semper Fi
broknaero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
JasonN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warren, Pa - Clarion Co. Camp
Posts: 14,314
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

Ummmm....cut the stock down 1 inch!!!

You're solution to the problem is so unorthodox and doesn't really solve the problem at all. You're just asking for more trouble. The right thing to do is make the rifle fit you first. Then worry about the location of your optics. By doing what you're asking about you still don't have a rifle that fits right.

I'm a rather stout man. Being 5'-9" with a large frame has some advantages and disadvantages. I'm strong as an ox, but a full size rifle is just huge for me to carry and shoot well. The LOP is always too long....which is why all my rifles have shortened stocks or came with shorter LOP to start with. Most shotguns are just plain unwieldy for me too. You need to get the LOP right first....
JasonN is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 03:37 PM
Frequent Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Centre Co.
Posts: 711
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonN
I'm a rather stout man. Being 5'-9" with a large frame
Now thats Funny, I hope you don't mind me using that one.

Like Jason said, cut the stock down and inch. Then buy yourself a good one piece picatinny rail and a set of Weaver style rings. If it doesn't work after that, Well!!
Gunnermhr is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y.
Posts: 1,957
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

I can't cut the stock only because it not wood more like the camo synthetic style material other wise the chop saw would fix all my problems.I have one idea left buy the Bushnell 3x9x40MM with a 6" eye relief,then the problem is solved.
LONEWOLF5347 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
JasonN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warren, Pa - Clarion Co. Camp
Posts: 14,314
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnermhr
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonN
I'm a rather stout man. Being 5'-9" with a large frame
Now thats Funny, I hope you don't mind me using that one.

Like Jason said, cut the stock down and inch. Then buy yourself a good one piece picatinny rail and a set of Weaver style rings. If it doesn't work after that, Well!!
Have at it!

You really under estimated the ramifications of the boondoggle you have just perpetrated!
JasonN is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
JasonN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Warren, Pa - Clarion Co. Camp
Posts: 14,314
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

Quote:
Originally Posted by LONEWOLF5347
I can't cut the stock only because it not wood more like the camo synthetic style material other wise the chop saw would fix all my problems.I have one idea left buy the Bushnell 3x9x40MM with a 6" eye relief,then the problem is solved.
I have no experience with CVA or their customer service. However, I personally would call them and see if it can be cut down and how much. I know some synthetic stocks can be cut down some amount. I did it with a M70 with no issues. Or try calling some gunsmiths and see what they have to say about it. Might not be that big of a deal.

The longer eye relief scope is surely an option, but fitting the stock right would be priority #1 for me.

You really under estimated the ramifications of the boondoggle you have just perpetrated!
JasonN is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 06:52 PM
Hooked on HuntingPa
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: beaver county, pennsylvania
Posts: 485
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

offset rings don't work???
overthehill is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Regular Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y.
Posts: 1,957
Back To Top
Re: [email protected] cold weld on action base

I seen a one piece base mount from CVA and it seems they do not use the forward front hole but that a one piece I have a split rings like these the base measure 2"
http://www.durasight.com/durasight/speci...stem-black.html
I called cva but I think they are vacation for the holiday
LONEWOLF5347 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome