AR15 loss of accuracy - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
New Arrival

AR15 loss of accuracy

Hello, all.

I have a Bushmaster with the 20" heavy barrel A2 style sights, flash hider (came that way from the factory). Its stock, I've not done anything to it. I use the federal M193 ball ammo that its always been extremely accurate with. Its always been accurate with any kind of ammo I've fed it. Recently the accuracy kind of wained. I have maybe 4k rounds thru it. The bore still looks good. It started shooting unpredictably, though. Sometimes the zero kind of wanders but most of the time it looks more like I hit the target with a load of 4buck. Why would it suddenly start doing that? I haven't really changed anything, and I wouldn't think the barrel is shot out. What should I do? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 04:52 PM
Frequent Contributor

Re: AR15 loss of accuracy

4 k rounds can certainly play a role in the loss of accuracy.
Rapid firing and all that will only speed the process up.
Copper fouling could be part of the problem , stuff like that.
With that being said , you said "suddenly" and that means different things to different people and I am not there first hand.
You say it looks like a load of 4 buck and again just what does that mean? 4 buck at 10 , 20 , 100yds?
all those things considered , 4 k rounds will effect the accuracy ...... to what degree?
Well , that depends but 4 k is hardly a "like new" barrel.
I'm willing to bet accuracy begun to wain before the 4 k mark esp if the ar was shot like many ar's are.
I won't even bother to suggest maybe improper cleaning techinques added to shorting the accuracy.
Could be a mix of everything.
I'd invest in some good copper remover and start there and see if it made me happy.
Of course there is always the possibilty that you are having an off day or learned a bad habit.