7600 / 760 Disassembly - The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Frequent Contributor

7600 / 760 Disassembly

I put a post in the 760 thread asking about how to take these guns apart, but I figured I should make it a new topic. I have a 760 Gamemaster that I want to take apart to clean up the action. Specifically the slide tube. The pump is very stiff and I think that is where the problem is. Has anyone ever taken theirs apart? I've read a few things on different sites, and seem to get a few different answers. I tried one of them with no luck. Do I have to unscrew the tube to get the slide off?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 01:37 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

Re: 7600 / 760 Disassembly

Yes you have to unscrew the tube. You need a long shank screw driver or metal punch. It goes through the holes in the tube.
There's a rubber O ring inside the tube, probably your problem and will need to be replaced.

The way that you wander is the way that you choose,
The day that you tarry is the day that you lose.
Sunshine or thunder, a man will always wonder.
Where the fair wind blows.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 02:08 PM
Diehard Outdoorsman

The gun should obviously be unloaded.
open the action to reveal the two small holes in the tube.
A long pin or I use a small phillips head screw driver to rotate the tube, inserting it thru the holes in the tube. Rotate, counterclockwise. It is a long thread.

When you remove the forened wood and tube will be hangin without forward support, don't bent it. Dirt may be inside the forend tube. You can clean it with a patch and rod. Or you can remove it by closing the action(move it forward). If you take the action/forend assbly out, it can be difficult to get her back together.

I don't remember any o-rings on the 760, but they maybe there (or on the 7600)as anti-rattling devices?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement